SHA Students Honored by National Merit Scholarship Corporation

Officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC®) recently announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists nationwide in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Among those honored are four seniors from Sacred Heart Academy. Congratulations to Lindsey Adamchik, Grace Jarboe, Maddie Clingaman, and Hollings Ruml.

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $30 million offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 95 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and approximately half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

Lindsey Schiavone has been named a Commended Student in the 2022 NMSP and received a Letter of Commendation from SHA and the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. In a release from the NMSC, the organization says, “those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success” and “represent a valuable national resource.”

Sacred Heart Academy’s National Merit Commended Student and Semifinalists are active in athletic and academic teams, serve as club and team leaders and belong to numerous academic national honor societies.

Lindsey Adamchik is the National English Honor Society president and a member of the Varsity Academic Team. She is in the four-year IB Art program and part of a dance troupe.

Maddie Clingaman is a Frazier Fellow through the Jean Frazier Leadership Institute, a three-year Ambassador, and a member of the Leadership Board for the Forever Valkyries Club and Executive Board of the Science Club. She organized a Dress Swap at SHA freshman year and has continued the project for four years.

Grace Jarboe is a member of both the Archery and Academic and Quick Recall teams, president of the Vex Robotics Club, and on the leadership team of the Fandom Club. She is also a member of the Science and English National Honor Societies.

Hollings Ruml is the Student Advisory Board president and a member of the Student Council Executive Board. She is a member of the National English Honor Society, National Spanish Honor Society, and Louisville Youth Philanthropy Council.

Lindsey Schiavone is co-president of the French Club, co-captain of the Varsity Field Hockey team, a retreat leader through the Hearts for the Holy Spirit, and a member of the National Honor Society.

Sacred Heart Academy is proud of the accomplishments of these student leaders and looks forward to witnessing their future success.